17-21 Sep 2019


Athens - Greece




1000-1200 participants

Prof. Marjo van der Knaap

Marjo van der Knaap trained in adult and pediatric Neurology and MRI. Her PhD thesis was on MRI and MRS of white matter and white matter disorders (1991, cum laude). She is currently head of Pediatric Neurology of the VU University Medical Center and Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam. She is professor of Child Neurology, VU University Medical Center, and professor of Translational Neurosciences, VU University, Amsterdam.
Since 1987, her research is focused on childhood white matter disorders with a special focus on unclassified leukoencephalopathies. She developed MRI pattern recognition to facilitate the diagnostic work-up and applied it to define novel disorders. Her research group has identified numerous mutated genes for newly defined disorders. Her subsequent studies aim at elucidation of disease mechanisms and development of treatment.
In 2000, she founded the Center for Childhood White Matter Disorders in Amsterdam, in which diagnostics, patient care and research are integrated. The center contains a molecular laboratory and a stem cell / iPSC laboratory and is closely associated with neuropathology, neuroradiology and genetics. Her team developed several leukodystrophy mouse models representative of the related human disorders, facilitating studies on disease mechanisms and therapy development.
She is co-author of the book: Van der Knaap MS, Valk J. Magnetic resonance of myelination and myelin disorders. Springer, 1989, 1995 and 2005. She co-authored ~390 peer-reviewed papers in international scientific journals. She received international awards and honors, including the gold medal of the ISMRM (1999), Winkler medal of the Dutch Society of Neurology (2000), honorary membership of the ASNR (2001), Prichard award of the ICNA (2002), Sidney Carter Award of the AAN (2008), Spinoza award in The Netherlands (2008), Peter-Emil-Becker Award of Gesellschaft für Neuropädiatrie (2010) and the gold medal of the ASPNR (2014). She was elected a member of the Dutch Royal Academy of Sciences (2010).


(+30) 210 6833 600



Subscribe to Newsletter

© 2019 European Paediatric Neurology Society - All rights reserved. Developed by LogicOne